DO I REALLY LOVE YOU AFRICA?

.

I want to share with all of you this post of my friend  Anthony Agu (his blog is https://madotonero.com/)

  Antony is from Africa but works it Italy! He is an author and a teacher by profession. A graduate in biological science and presently a pharmaceutical student in the University of Rome II.

57798811_10214293646035119_5640604537229148160_n

I imagine the kind of family I grew up from. Sometimes I asked myself if I was educated. And if yes, who educated me? What kind of brain do I have? What kind of thinking faculty do I have? If at all, I saw the four walls of higher institution, what did I learn from there? I wonder the kind of transformation that has taken place in my life. I wonder what has come over me.

When I traveled to visit my neighbours, I admire the kind of infrastructures they are having. I praise them. I cherished them. I wish my people could be like them. Before leaving I would give them part of my resources to continue developing their lands while my own people perish in pain, hunger, joblessness, lack of infrastructure, and the like. They thanked me and called me, “The Wise Man.” Shame on me. It was only an ironical statement they made. I am a fool, a fool at 40. Continue reading

The Fight of Two (lions) Within You

20190422_193845
* For the needs of my grandson’s photo  i changed the title

The Fight of Two Wolves Within You

An old Cherokee is teaching his grandson about life:

“A fight is going on inside me,” he said to the boy.

“It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves. One is evil–he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.”

He continued, “The other is good – he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The same fight is going on inside you–and inside every other person, too.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather: “Which wolf will win?”

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

* Tom is feeding the lion with his easter chocolate egg … i believe this is the good one as it is next to the side of his heart ❤

.

Κράτα το

Κράτα το

Bulla and Lunula ….amulets

.

Roman bullae were enigmatic objects of lead, sometimes covered in gold foil, if the family could afford it. A bulla was worn around the neck as a locket to protect against evil spirits and forces. Bullae were made of differing substances depending upon the wealth of the family.

 

 

 

Roman boys

Before the age of manhood, Roman boys wore a bulla, a neckchain and round pouch containing protective amulets (usually phallic symbols), and the bulla of an upper-class boy would be made of gold. Other materials included leather and cloth.

A freeborn Roman boy wore a bulla until he came of age as a Roman citizen. Before he put on his toga virilis (“toga of manhood”) he placed his boyhood bulla in the care Continue reading